RuggedMan, Sunny Nneji Lose Out On Being PMAN President


Michael Ugochukwu Stephens, popularly known as RuggedMan, a Nigerian rapper alongside veteran singer Sunny Nneji, Zaki Azaay, among others, during the biennial elections of the Performing Musicians Employers’ Association on Tuesday, October 04, 2016 lost out on becoming the association’s president as Mr Pretty Okafor, the interim president was unanimously elected. 

He was elected unopposed as substantive president of the
union as other aspirants who had shown interest in the position in an admirable
show of solidarity and support of the renaissance work he had done in the union
during the last eighteen months stepped down. 
These included Sunny Neji,
Ruggedman and Zaakyn Azaay, Tolu Obey-Fabiyi, Felix Duke and Asha Gangali.
Other members that were elected into positions included
Sunny Neji -first vice president, ZaakyAzaay -second vice president, Tolu
Obey-Fabiyi – National Treasurer, The ex-official members include Felix Duke,
Asha Gangali, Ruggedman, Elvinaibru, Koffiidowu, Arthur Pepple and Benny
Paladin Edoja.
In his acceptance speech Mr. Okafor appreciated the vote of
confidence the rest of the team put in him. 
He took time to honour the founding
fathers of the union who also initiated the vision for the union and worked
hard to birth it. These include Chief (Mrs.) Christy Essien Igbokwe (late),
King Sunny Ade (KSA), Evang. Sunny Okosuns (late), Chief Ebenezer Obey, Lemmy Jackson,
Tee-Mac Omatshola-Iseli, Emma Ogosi, Laolu Akins, Funmi Adams, ObyOnyioha,
Maliki Showman, Harry Mosco, King Pago, Bobby Benson and many others who over
the years have served the union in various capacities.
The newly elected officer went on to highlight the goals he and
his team intend to achieve during his new tenure going forward.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here