Okorocha, Izunaso, Uwajumogu make INEC provisional list


Imo State Governor, Rochas Okorocha, former National Organizing Secretary of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Osita Izunaso, and APC Senator, Benjamin Uwajumogu are among the candudates that made Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Provisional list for Imo senatorial election.

They wi’ll be squaring up with other 55 candidates from various political parties jostling for the three senatorial positions in the state.

While Okorocha will be contesting for the Imo West Senatorial seat under the platform the APC, Izunaso will fly the same ticket under All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), having defected to the party after the APC National Convention.

Incumbent senator Ben Uwajumogu will fly the APC flag for Imo North.

Okorocha and Izunaso will meet a serving House of Representatives, Jones Onyereri, who is contesting for the same senatorial seat under the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). Onyereri is the chairman House Committee on Banking and Currency.

His counterpart, Ezenwa Onyewuchi, who is the House Committee Chairman on Labour and Productivity is the PDP candidate for Imo East senatorial zone, while Emma Ojinere is for APC Imo east. Three female contestants, Emedoro Nkiru (NAC),

Ugonma Donald (ASD), and MAJA), Chioma Chikezie (ACCORD) also made the list.

With Okorocha’s name included, the choice of the incumbent, Hope Uzodinma, might have been foreclosed as he (Uzodinma) is gunning for the governorship position.

The lists for the National Assembly candidates were displayed at the zonal INEC offices in Orlu, Owerri and Okigwe, while that of the presidential were displayed at INEC state office in Owerri


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

16 − 1 =