APC wins Katsina bye-election

Spread the post

Abubakar Yahaya Kusada of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has emerged the winner of the Kusada/Kankia/Ingawa federal constituency bye-election in Katsina State.

He polled 48,518 votes out of the 73,073 total votes cast to snatch victory from three other contenders.

This was announced on Saturday night by INEC’s Chief Returning Officer for the poll, Prof. Rasheed Adedayo Hamzat, in Katsina.

She said “Having satisfied the requirements of the law and received the highest votes cast Abubakar Yahaya Kusada of the APC is hereby return as the winner”.

Kusada defeated Abdulsamad Abdullahi of the PDP, who had 20,193 votes; Basiru Aminu of the PRP who scored 1,810 votes and Abdullahi Umar of YES with 221 votes.

The breakdown of the election showed the following: registered voters – 193, 904, accredited voters – 74,742, valid votes – 70,742, rejected votes: 2,331, while total votes cast stood at 73,073.

Spread the post


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here