Imo To Get Senate Presidency As ranking Uwajumogu wins Okigwe Senate race


The bid for a Senator from the South East extraction to head the Presidency of the Senate brightened over the weekend with the declaration of Distinguished Senator Benjamin Chukwuemeka Uwajumogu as the winner of the Imo North Senatorial District (Okigwe Zone) supplementary election held on Saturday, March 9, 2019.

The INEC Returning Officer for Imo North Senatorial District (Okigwe Zone), *Prof D. O. Ohajianya* after collation of the final results from the local govt areas declared Distinguished Senator Benjamin Uwajumogu, duly elected in the rerun election held on Saturday, March 9, 2019.

Prof Ohajianya stated that Senator Ben Uwajumogu, who is the senator currently representing Okigwe zone in the National Assembly polled the highest number of votes to emerge the winner and defeated his closed rival, Hon Patrick Ndubueze of the PDP.

By this victory, Sen Ben Uwajumogu is now the only ranking Senator from the South East and primed for the presidency of the Senate.

In his remarks, Sen Uwajumogu thanked the people of Okigwe zone for re-electing him back to Senate and promised to attract monumental infrastructural projects and empowerment to the zone.

He added that his victory at the polls was a victory for the people of the South East.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

six − 3 =