Ondo LG poll: APC wins in 18 councils

People wait to vote at a polling station in Abuja during presidential elections on March 28, 2015. Problems with new technology forced a 24-hour extension to the presidential election in Africa's most populous nation, Nigeria, and renewed Boko Haram violence hit the knife-edge vote. AFP PHOTO / NICHOLE SOBECKINichole Sobecki/AFP/Getty Images
Spread the post

On Monday the All Progressives Congress (APC) has been declared winner in the 18 local government areas in Ondo State.

Local government election was held last end and seven parties participated in the Saturday poll.

Announcing the election results yesterday, Prof. Yomi Dinakin, the Chairman of the Ondo Independent Electoral Commission (ODIEC), said there was no contestation in five local governments.

Dinakin, who declared APC candidates winners of the election in the five local governments, said it was in line with the Electoral Act.

He said he acted within the law, which stated that where there are no contestations, any candidate validly nominated should be declared winner.

Dinakin listed the five councils to include Akoko North East where Mr. Omojola Asimiyu emerged, Ose Local Government (Dennis Adekunle), Ifedore Local Government (Alex Akinyemi Oladimeji), Odigbo Local Government (Akinsurojo  Margret) and Irele Local Government (Segun Ajimatokin).

Other local governments where the APC won were Ese-Odo where Folawole Sibasi polled 29,360. In Akoko South East, the APC candidate, Paul Adorujoye, scored 14, 174 votes.

Mr. Gbenga Olaniyi garnered 24,238 votes in Akure South, Olamigoke Olatuwase got 40,009 votes in Ilaje, while Akisuroje Temitayo got 13,250 votes in Ile-Oluji/Okeigbo.

Ondo councils poll

In Okitipupa, the APC candidate, Akinrinwa Igbekele, got 34,721 votes, Akinsulire Ebenezer got 54,292 to win in Ondo West, Chief Adegbegi Samuel polled 48,742 to win in Owo, while Bankole Ogbesetoye got 10,541 votes to win in Akure North.

The APC candidates also won in Idanre, Akoko North West, Akoko South West and Ondo East local governments

Certificates of return were being presented to the candidates at press time.

Spread the post


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here