Senate confirms seven Consumer Protection nominees, rejects Apata for failure to appear

Spread the post

On Wednesday the Senate confirmed the appointments of seven nominees to the Federal Competition and Consumer Protection Commission.

President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, during plenary, read the President’s request for the confirmation of the Chairman and members of the National Commission for Persons with Disabilities to the Committee on Youths and Sports.

Ahmad said the President also made a request for the confirmation of Professor Mahmood Yakubu as Chairman, Independent National Electoral Commission and nomination of Professor Abdullahi Abdu Zuru as INEC Commissioner.

According to him, the confirmation of the nominations of members of the Governing Council of the Hydroelectric Power Producing Areas Development Commission (HYPADEC); and appointments of Chairman, Vice Chairman and Commissioner for the Nigeria Electricity Regulatory Commission were both referred to the Senate Committee on Power.

“The President also seeks confirmation of the nomination of Chief Onyemuche Nnamani as Member of the Police Service Commission was referred by the Senate President to the Committee on Police Affairs,” he added.

He, however, said the committees were given four weeks to report back to the Senate.

Speaking also, the Chairman of the Committee, Senator Francis Adenigba Fadahunsi (PDP- Osun East), said that the upper chamber rejected Mrs. Yinka Osoba Akpata as Executive Commissioner to represent the South West on the Commission.

According to him, Akpata’s rejection was recommended as a result of her failure to appear before the Committee for screening.

The Senate gave names of nominees as follows: Barr. Emeka Nwakpa, Chairman (South-East); AVM Wakili Abdullahi Ahmed, Non-Executive Commissioner (North-West); Adamu Ahmed Abdullahi, Executive Commissioner (North-East); Babatunde Irukera, and Executive Vice Chairman/CEO (North-Central).

Others include Ben Obi Nwoye, Non-Executive Commissioner (South-East); Theophilus Oyebiyi, Non-Executive Commissioner (North-Central); and Ayang Francis Eyam, Non-Executive Commissioner (South-South).


Spread the post


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here