Buhari appoints Oyegun, Makarfi, Uchendu, Al-Mustapha, others as chairman of boards

Spread the post

President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed a former national chairman of the All Progressives Congress, APC, John Oyegun, as the Chairman, University of Ibadan (UI) governing council.

Oyegun, alongside others were appointed into the reconstituted governing councils of University of Port Harcourt (UNIPORT), University of Lagos (UNILAG), Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), Ile-Ife, and the Maritime University in Delta state.

This was contained in a statement signed by Sonny Echono, Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Education and made available to reporters on Thursday.

Joining Oyegun as members of the UI governing council include Kazaure, Yaro, Maikafi, and Emeka Nwagbo.

“For UNIPORT, the governing council members are Sen. Andrew Uchendu as chairman, while Mr. Kolo Uzamat, Cdre. D.T. Hinga, Mohammed Makarfi, and Ahmed Al-Mustapha are members,” the permanent secretary said.

“For UNILAG, Chief Dr. Lanre Tejuosho is chairman, with Dr Aminu Ahmed, Dr Uro Gardner, Chief Chinedu Adindi, and Comrade Mustafa Salihu as members.

“OAU has Chief Oscar Udoji as Chairman, with Capt. Bala Jibrin, Hon. Eugene Odo, Dr Lateef Babata, and Alhaji Saidu Bako as members.

“The Nigerian Maritime University, Okerenkoko in Delta has Dr Elias Courson as Chairman and Hon. Nelson Alapa, Hon Victor Giadono, Alhaji Bello Dukku, and Mr Godwin Ananghe as members.”

The statement added that the inauguration for all the governing councils would be done in Abuja by the Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu, on April 19.

The Vice Chancellors of the five federal Universities are also advised to be at the inauguration.

A university council is the executive body of a university’s governance system that offers advice and serves as a link between the university and the government.

Spread the post


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here