Lawan wins fifth consecutive Senate seat

Spread the post

The Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, has won, by a landslide, the Senatorial election for Yobe North, in Yobe State.

The Special Adviser (Media) to the Senate President, Ola Awoniyi, disclosed this in a statement in Abuja.

According to Awoniyi, the Senate President was formally declared winner on Sunday night by INEC which announced that Lawan polled 91,318 votes, representing 74.7 per cent of the total valid votes (122,193), to defeat his closest rival, Bello Ilu of PDP who polled 22,849 votes.

He noted that “This is the seventh parliamentary election won consecutively by Lawan into the National Assembly since 1999, the first two of which gave him ticket to the House of Representatives while the last five gave him ticket to the Senate.”

The Nation

Spread the post


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here