Buhari Appoints New CEO’s for NUC,NECO,others


Abuja, Aug. 1, 2016 (NAN) President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the appointment of new chief executive officers for the National Universities Commission (NUC), the National Examination Council (NECO) and other education parastatals and agencies.

This contained in a statement signed by Mr Bem Goong, Deputy Director, Press, Federal Ministry of Education, in Abuja on Monday.

They are Prof. Abubakar Rasheed, NUC; Prof. Lilian Salami; Nigerian Institute For Educational Planning and Administration; Dr Hameed Bobboyi, Universal Basic Education Board; and Prof. Lanre Aina, National Library of Nigeria.

Others are Prof. Charles Uwakwe, NECO; Prof. Abba Haladu, National Commission For Mass Literacy, Adult And Non-Formal Education; Prof. Bashir Usman, Nomadic Education Commission; and Prof. Ifeoma Isiugo-Abanihe, National Business and Technical Examination Board.

Also appointed are Prof. Sunday Ajiboye, Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria; Afolabi Aderinto, Computer Registration Council of Nigeria; Prof. Bappah Aliyu, National Commission For Colleges of Education; and Dr. Abdullahi Baffa, Tertiary Education Trust Fund.

Prof. Garba Azare, National Teachers Institute; Prof. Michael Afolabi, Librarian Registration Council of Nigeria; Prof. Steven Onah, Prof. Ishaq Oloyede, Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board; Prof. Chinyere Ohiri-Aniche, National Institute of Nigerian Languages

Goong said the appointments were with immediate effect.

Prof. Julius OKojie had earlier on Monday completed his two-year tenure as the Executive Secretary of NUC.

The statement said that the 17 new chief executives were expected at the office of the Minister of Education on Aug. 2 at noon



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here