Benue Assembly Speaker, principal officers impeached


Political tension continued to heighten in Benue State, on Tuesday, as 22 out 30 members of the state House of Assembly impeached the Speaker of the House, Mr Terkimbi Ikyange; his deputy, Mrs  James Okefe; and the Majority Leader of the House, Benjamin Adanyi for alleged abuse of office.

The lawmakers accused the Speaker of abuse of office and high handedness.

The lawmakers consequently elected a former Chief Whip of the House, Mr Titus Ubah, representing Vandeikya  Kyan constituency as the new Speaker.  Johnson Egli Ahubi ( Otukpo/Akpa) was elected Deputy Speaker while Avine Agbum (Makurdi South) was elected the Majority Leader.

The motion for the Impeachment of the Speaker and other principal officers of the House was moved by Mr Richard Ujege (Konshisha state constituency) and seconded by Mr Anthony Ogbu (Ado state constituency)

The House had on July 10 adjourned sitting to August 15, 2018, only for the 22 members to have an emergency sitting on Tuesday.

Speaking to newsmen shortly after his election, the new Speaker, Mr Titus Ubah, stated that Ikyange was unanimously removed as a result of his high handedness.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

3 × 2 =