Photos: Abia Speaker Receives Vision Africa Radio Personality Award 2019

Spread the post

The Speaker of Abia State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Chinedum Enyinnaya Orji, on Sunday received Vision Africa Radio Personality Award 2019 at a colorful ceremony held at the Michael Okpara auditorium in Umuahia.

The Event which attracted top dignitaries including the Former Governor of Akwa Ibom State, His Excellency Obong Victor Attah, was powered by Vision Africa Radio on her annual Vision Africa ICONS Music Finals 2019 and Awards.

Presenting the award, President of Vision Africa Foundation, Bishop Dr Sunday Onuoha, said the award was for men and women of integrity who have impacted lives positively.

Bishop Onuoha further said the award was in recognition of the Speaker’s contributions to nation building.

In his response, the Speaker of the Abia State House of Assembly, Rt Hon Chinedum Enyinnaya Orji, said his presence at the occasion was borne out of his respect for Bishop Sunday Onuoha.

He further said he will no longer be receiving any award that does not also recognize Members of the 7th Assembly.

“The Speaker will not be accepting any award unless my members are carried along”, he declared.

“So, if you want me to attend any award ceremony or accept any award, you must recognize Members of the 7th Abia State House of Assembly because without their support, there is no way you would be seeing the results you are seeing so far.

“I am sure that all of you are aware that the 7th Assembly is doing well and will continue to do well by the grace of God and your continued support”, he said.

The Speaker thereafter renamed the award presented to him thus”: An Award of Honour presented to the 7th Abia State House of Assembly”.

The Speaker reiterated his earlier assurance that the Members of the 7th Abia State House of Assembly will not listen to any propaganda and blackmail in the discharge of their Constitutional Duties. “We are focused and will not be distracted”, he emphasized.

The Speaker was accompanied to receive the award by the Lawmaker representing Umuahia South State Constituency, Hon Barr Jerry Uzosike, Hon Stanley Nwabuisi Of Ikwuano, Bende South State Constituency, Hon. Emmanuel Ndubuisi, Isiukwuato State Constituency, Hon. Barr Emeka Okoroafor and Ohafia North State Constituency, Hon Mandela Obasi.

Spread the post


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here