Akwa Ibom Governor, Udom Swears In 19 Commissioners, 2 Special Advisers

Spread the post

Governor Udom Emmanuel of Akwa Ibom State has charged the new Executive Council members in the state to demonstrate hardwork, commitment and loyalty in line with their path of office.

The Governor made the remark when he inaugurated 19 Commissioners, two Special Advisers , alongside 4 new permanent secretaries at the Banquet Hall of Government House, Uyo.

” Let your loyalty after God Almighty, be for the love of Akwa Ibom State” , the Governor said, pointing out that the difference between Africans and people of other climes is that, their first loyalty is to their country, whereas in our country, it is doubtful where our loyalty lies.

He advised them to discharge their duties exceptionally to reflect their love for the State.

The State Chief Executive who congratulated members of the new exco, described them as tested and proven men and women of character, integrity, transparency, honesty, passion and commitment to the service of Akwa Ibom State.

He, however, warned them not to spoil the chances of others pointing out that as Commissioners, there is one word they must watch, ‘Honourable’ urging them to be Honourable in all ramifications, failure which will lead to dismissal.

Governor Emmanuel, who spoke extempore, advised the new commissioners not to take decisions that would affect the state negatively, noting that their service should be to the state.

“A lot of people take decisions without caring what happens to the State. Our first service, should be to the state. Don’t do something just for self-aggrandizement as Commissioners”, the Governor warned.

The Governor also advised the Commissioners not to take decisions that would affect their Local Governments, pointing out that they are representatives of their various Local Government Areas.

Governor Emmanuel who also swore in 4 new permanent secretaries said: “you were selected purely on merits. No single person has ever lobbied me for a permanent secretary and get it. If you lobby, you spoil the chances of those people.”

He charged them to see their selection as a call to duty adding that if they adhere to the oath of office sworn to, they would never have any problem.

Mr Emmanuel stated that as permanent secretaries, they have a lot of people to mentor noting that, “we can create a working class civil service based on the quality of permanent secretaries we have.”

Mr Charles Udoh, newly sworn in Commissioner for Information, in an interview with journalists shortly after the swearing in ceremony, said that Akwa Ibom people are blessed to have a Governor who is focused, passionate and committed to building a new Akwa Ibom State.

He charged the people to redouble their efforts to enable the realisation of the vision of the Governor which is the completion agenda.

Similarly, Mr Akan Okon, who was also sworn in as Commissioner for Economic Development and Ibom Deep Seaport, thanked Governor Emmanuel for finding him worthy and suitable to continue to serve the great people of Akwa Ibom State.

He described the Governor as very focused adding that in his second term, Akwa Ibom people are going to witness a lot of development.

He further assured that projects that were not completed, would be completed in this second term.

Finance Commissioner, Mr, Linus Nkan, who also interacted with journalists shortly after the swearing in ceremony, said : “we are actually on a finishing well course, so we will do everything possible to finish well.
“His Excellency’s completion agenda is what we are going to drive and I think we are going to be on top of our game.”

Works Commissioner, Akparawa Ephraim Inyangeyen, on his part, said that he has the mandate of the Governor to ensure that most of the ongoing projects, are completed within 24 months. He appealed to the people of the state to support the Government as it gears to give the state a metropolitan outlook.

The only new face on the list of the newly sworn in commissioners, Rt. Hon. Okpolupm Etteh, said that he is part of the team on board for the completion agenda pledging that by the special Grace of God, he would deliver on his assignment.

Among the Commissioners sworn into office were, Mr Akan Okon, Arc. Ime Ekpo, Prof Nse Essien, Barr Uwemedimo Nwoko, Mr Monday Uko, Linus Nkan, Okpulupum Etteh, Ephraim Inyangeyen, Ekong Sampson, Charles Udoh, Orman Esin, Iniobong Essien, Dominic Ukpong and Dr. Gloria Edet. Others are Sir Udo Ekpenyong, Prince Ukpong Akpabio, Uno Etim Uno, Raphael Bassey and Prof Victor Bassey Inoka.

Two nominees, Sunny Ibuot and Ekemini Umoh were also sworn in as Special Advisers, while Barr Janet Daniel, Grace Aniefiok Udoinyang, Ekaete Iniobong Ekanem and Dr Patrick Anietie Essien were sworn in as Permanent Secretaries.

Present at the event were, the Wife of the Governor, Mrs Martha Udom Emmnuel, Deputy Governor, Mr Moses Ekpo, Speaker, AKHA, Rt. Hon. Aniekan Bassey, State Party Chairman, Obong Paul Ekpo, Former Governor and DG Divine Mandate, Otuekong Idongesit Nkanga, the SSG, Dr. Emmanuel Ekuwem, Head of the State Civil Service, Elder Effiong Essien, National Legal Adviser of the PDP, Barr. Emmanuel Enoidem, Senators and serving members of the National Assembly, members of the AKHA, political stakeholders, Permanent Secretaries, Chairmen of Boards and Commissions, Women, Elders, Youths, family members and friends of the newly sworn in members of the Exco among others.

Following the successful swearing in of Commissioners and Special Advisers earlier today, His Excellency, Governor Udom Emmanuel has assigned the following portfolios:

1. Mr. Akan Okon – Ministry of Economic Development and Ibom Deep Seaport

2. Arc. Ime Okon Ekpo – Ministry Lands & Water Resources

3. Nse Udo Essien,PhD – Ministry of Education

4. Uwemedimo Thomas Nwoko, Esq – Ministry of Justice

5. Sir Monday Ebong Uko – Ministry of Youth and Sports

6. Mr. Nsikan Linus Nkan – Ministry of Finance

7. Rt. Hon. Okpolupm Ikpong Etteh – Ministry of Special Duties

8. Ephraim Akparawa Inyangeyen – Ministry of Works

9. Barr. Ekong Sampson – Ministry of Environment and Petroleum Resources

10. Mr Charles Udoh – Ministry of Information

11. Hon. Orman Esin – Ministry of Culture and Tourism

12. Dr. Iniobong Essien – Ministry of Science and Technology

13. Dr. Dominic Ukpong – Ministry of Health

14. Dr. Glory Edet – Ministry of Agriculture and Women Affairs

15. Hon. Udo Ekpenyong – Ministry of Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs

16. Prince Ukpong Akpabio – Ministry of Trade and Investment

17. Rt. Hon. Chief Uno Etim Uno – Ministry of Transport and Solid Minerals

18. Otuekong Raphael Bassey – Ministry of Housing

19. Prof. Victor Bassey Inoka – Ministry of Labour and Manpower Planning

*Special Advisers*

20. Pastor (Hon.) Sunday Ekanem Ibuot – Political & Legislative Affairs Bureau

21. Mrs Ekemini David Umoh – Bureau of Rural Development and Cooperatives

Ekerete Udoh
Chief Press Secretary/SSA(Media) to the Governor

Spread the post


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here