Home FEATURED Medical University: FMC compensate 660 families over acquisition of 170 acres of lands

Medical University: FMC compensate 660 families over acquisition of 170 acres of lands


The Federal Medical Centre, FMC, Abeokuta has compensated about 660 families over acquisition of 170 acres of lands given to the hospital by the Ogun State Government.

The families from over 20 villages whose land were acquired by the the state for the hospital for the establishment of a proposed Medical University and extension of the Medical centre in the state received compensations of the sum of N190 million.

The Medical Director, Prof. Adewale Olomu, at a brief ceremony held at the Bureau of Land Secretariat, Oke-Ilewo, Abeokuta said a sum of N190 million would be given to the 660 families across the 20 villages where the 170 acres of land were acquired.

Olomu also explained that the compensation was given to the families based on the worth of the crops, land and buildings on the acquired land.

“We are paying every entitlement to people of villages where the Governor of the State, Senator Ibikunle Amosun has given to us for the establishment of our Medical University and extension of the Medical Centre.

“We are paying N190 million to about 660 families and the compensation was given in two phases, that is crops and economic trees and exhausted improvement,” he said.

Olomu also acknowledged Amosun for supporting the medical centre with the 178 acres of land which worth N5.2 billion for free electricity supply and extension of pipe borne water for the centre.

Also speaking at the event, the Pioneer and immediate past Commandant of Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps, Ade Abodunrin urged the villagers to see the money as nothing but a way to support the government to enhance development of their communities.

The villages, which benefited from the entitlement include: Asalu village, Ajibayo village, Abule-oba village, Oluwo-kenta village, Akiodu village, Obele village, Ijeun lemo village, Gbagura Eremaun village.

Others include: Ijeun Amosu village, Apena Erunwon village, Fonfon village, Ogbagba village, Ikereku Olokinta village and Kenya Otunba village.

















































Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

twelve − two =