FG Plans To File Charges Against 31 Ex-Governors


The Attorney General of Nigeria, Abubakar Malami, has pooled some special prosecutors together in preparation to file charges against some former governors before the end of October.

According to Punch, the newly set up National Prosecution
Coordination Committee (NAPCC) and some special teams of prosecutors have
commenced the review of the corruption cases involving the former governors.
It was gathered that the preliminary issues are being
finalised, as the Federal Government’s special teams of prosecutors would
commence prosecution of the ex-governors in a matter of weeks.
“You will recall that before the NPCC began work, the AGF
had written to the EFCC and ICPC, asking them to remit the duplicate files of
31 ex-governors and some other politically-exposed persons to his office,”
a source familiar with the matter was quoted as saying.
“While the anti-corruption agencies had yet to respond, the
AGF again asked the various agencies with prosecutorial powers, including the
ICPC and the EFCC, to compile and remit the duplicate files of all high profile
cases they had to the NPCC.
“I can tell you that the agencies have responded to the
AGF’s directive and the NPCC is now reviewing the files.”
Report said the files have been distributed to some of the
20 prosecuting teams, each comprising four lawyers.
The list includes the following names: The Senate President
Bukola Saraki, who is a former 
Governor of Kwara State; Godswill Akpabio, a
former Governor of Akwa Ibom State; and a factional Chairman of the Peoples
Democratic Party, Senator Ali Modu Sheriff, who is an ex-Governor of Borno
Other former governors include Orji Uzor Kalu (Abia);
Chimaroke Nnamani (Enugu); Saminu Turaki (Jigawa); Sule Lamido (Jigawa); Joshua
Dariye (Plateau); Ahmed Yerima (Zamfara); Gabriel Suswam (Benue); Martin Elechi
(Ebonyi); Danjuma Goje (Gombe) and Murtala Nyako (Adamawa).
They also include Ikedi Ohakim (Imo); Achike Udenwa (Imo);
Abdullahi Adamu (Nasarawa); Gbenga Daniel (Ogun); Jolly Nyame (Taraba); Boni
Haruna (Adamawa); George Akume (Benue); Rashidi Ladoja (Oyo); Attahiru Bafarawa
(Sokoto) and Adebayo Alao-Akala (Oyo).

Others are Usman Dakingari (Kebbi); Adamu Mu’azu (Bauchi);
Peter Odili (Rivers), and Lucky Igbindedion (Edo).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here